Even the lamps are designer in Mayfair

20140623-131446-47686028.jpgt

So here I was in wet and windy Mayfair attending a job interview a few weeks ago.. I went into the nearest Starbucks to kill some time, took my yummy caramel latte and perched myself on a stool at the window. Right in front of me I notice these unusual lampposts that look to have the Chanel logo on them. As a joke I took a pic and tweeted it. With the responses I received it transpires there really is a legend behind them ..although I think it’s more romantic notions that actual fact!
This is an except from The Telegraph explaining the story quite well..

“Legend has it that the second Duke of Westminster, Hugh Richard Arthur Grosvenor, was so love-struck by Mademoiselle ‘Coco’ Chanel back in the late Twenties after they met at a party in Monte Carlo in 1925, that he ordered all the lampposts in Westminster to be adorned with her initials, alongside an ornate W – the Duke’s crest. Poor old Hugh was left heartbroken when, despite his extravagant gesture, Chanel turned his proposal of marriage down saying: “There have been several Duchesses of Westminster, there is only one Chanel”. That told him.”

Now apparently someone rang the council and they said it was purely fictitious, the lampposts weren’t installed until the 50s and the W stands for Westminster and the CC stands for City Council.

Believe what you will but it being such a nice romantic gesture by a man desperately in love I’m going to believe it anyway!

Leave a Reply

