Worrying about worrying

I am an anxious person by nature. Although, I have realised, parts of me can be quite positive and hopeful.

Partly I blame my mum cos she’s a worrier and I just LOVE to thank her for passing the trait on to me! But worrying and being anxious is a cycle you get into and it’s hard to get out of sometimes.

I read The Secret a few years ago and it really really helped me through a transition period in my life (il probably blog about that stuff at some point). The Law of Attraction theory is an old one and can be quite easy to pick up and apply to your life. However, it gets harder when lots of things are going wrong in your life suddenly, you are supposed to stay positive and not think about the negatives. Here I find there is an element of fear I encounter where IF I put on a brave face and try to act and feel positive then I end up literally stressing that maybe I’m not worrying enough!! It’s like feeling guilty for having a fun stress free day when I’ve got so much unsettlement in my life.
On the flip side if I sit here all day fretting I make myself even more stressed and worried and I start to think about trying to stop worrying so much!! Can you imagine!? Worrying about the level of your worrying!

Since reading The Secret I have gone on to read The Power. I’ve been learning to be positive and imagine amazing outcomes for myself by visualising how it will be when I have the job/car/money/family I want. The only problem is I can’t seem to stop worrying about HOW I’m going to achieve these things! The Secret is apparently to NOT worry about how things will materialise just know that they will, believe they will and FEEL they will!

This is a scary thought for me because I crave security and I want to know how I will get that, I can’t focus on just some day having it!! How will that happen!? Will I get the good job? Will I be a famous blogger? Will I win the lotto!?

I’m trying really hard to snap out of this negative pattern of thought but it’s very very hard at this moment in time…

Leave a Reply

