Don’t wanna be without my new tattoo…

Maybe you will recognise the title as a Motley Crüe song, maybe you won’t .. It’s a lyric from New Tattoo.

Coincidentally the first time I heard that song was while in a tattoo parlour on Hollywood Blvd in 2005. Myself and my best friend were on holidays and my mission was to get my first tattoo in memory of my trip to LA. As I was stood there listening to Mötley Crüe I picked my first tattoo which was the word Angel (I figured City of Angels, angel, good memories) and written in that script that you always see on Mexicans and Puerto Rican gangsters in movies…

That whole tattoo experience was awesome and I was hooked. After that I had two more over a few years, a dragon on my thigh and a pink diamond on my wrist.

The latest one, my fourth, was a joint appointment with my boyfriend on his birthday two weeks ago. We decided to both get a crown done because he always calls me princess and he’s the prince I waited for… We weren’t ready to be saying King and Queen just yet, making it sounds all old and boring! But now it’s just hit me that the song New Tattoo means even more now because it’s basically saying that a person means that much to you that you are willing to have a permanent reminder of them on your body, and can’t wait to show the world how you feel.

There’s something that I need to say to you
I know it’s late
But this can’t wait
I just got a new tattoo

One love and a, one woman
You’re my new tattoo
Tonight is the very first night of my life with you Until the day I die
I promise it’s true
Everyone will see my new tattoo

Tonight I saw your face up in the stars Stumbled here to paint you on my arm
There’s something that I need to say to you
So I wrote this song
Cause you belong
Right here on my new tattoo
One love and a, one woman

As I write this he’s sleeping like a baby next to me (but with louder snores) and I can look at him and feel the strongest love and a simple desire to make him happy and make him feel loved and special. Never in a million years would I have imagined getting a tattoo with such a blatant connection to a relationship. The fact is, no matter what happens in life and whether me and Him stay together forever or whether we split up, I would never ever regret the time I spent with him. Therefore I could never regret the tattoo either. He has made me so happy and shown me such love and devotion that I could never ever regret marking that relationship forever. It’s a lovely idea and something so personal I’m actually really happy we did it. I sincerely hope this tattoo is just the first of many we may see each other get over the years because I for one will be ready to have those crowns upgraded to mean King and Queen if we do have our own princes and princesses someday.

20140629-025238-10358063.jpg

Leave a Reply

