First world problems

No matter how bad I think my day is or what kind of drama I go through I just need to keep things in perspective.

Firstly, I have my good health and I am so thankful for that. I have an amazing family, boyfriend and friends. I still have a roof over my head, and if I don’t I have a mum who will take me in. I still eat well everyday. I can afford to smoke casually. I can buy toilet roll, washing powder, shampoo, toothpaste and other necessities when I need to. I have access to wifi and I have a laptop. I have a huge TV, thanks to my dad last year. I have plenty of clothes, some still with tags on. I have more shoes than I can wear. I have jackets for the winter. I have a travel card which I can afford to top up regularly. I have a drawer full of jewellery, real and costume. I get my nails done once a month and I can buy my hair dyes. The best part is even if I go flat broke over here, I have a savings account with a few thousand in it if I really really really get stuck.

Seriously my life is a party compared to some people. I need to wake up each day and be so thankful for the things I have and the things I can do for myself. Plenty of people have no welfare to rely on, no savings, not even food or a bed to call their own. And don’t forget those poor people stuck in the middle of wars or fighting in their countries. I genuinely don’t know how I would cope.

Please take a minute to just think about everything you have and what you might take for granted each day. Simple things like showering, eating, travelling on a bus… Not everyone has those luxuries believe me.

4 comments

  1. I seem to take a lot of things for granted. I try no to, but sometimes it’s so hard. It’s great to sit back and think about these things but telling myself to do better doesn’t always work out well. It’s great to hear it from another perspective.

    1. I have just realised after 29 years that I had a very very lovely upbringing and lots of people weren’t as lucky as me having cars, horses, designer clothes, holidays. Now I’m tryna make it on my own and have hit a bad patch I’m still tryna be grateful for the small luxuries I do have!

Leave a Reply

